Athletics NI Awards 2015 at the Ramada Plaza

24 January 2016

On Wednesday 20 January Athletics Northern Ireland hosted their Annual Awards Ceremony at the Ramada Plaza, Shaws Bridge to honour the often unsung heroes of our sport, the volunteers, officials and coaches who are tireless in their commitment and drive to see the sport of Athletics flourish in the Province and further afield.

David Seaton started of the evening, with Tom Crick taking over to deluge into the Awards Ceremony. VIP Guests Dame Mary Peters, Maeve Kyle and Alan Tate (JT Inspire, which sponsored some of the awards) where in attendance to present some of these newly designed prestigious awards out to Northern Irelands inspiring athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers.

Our 2015 Winners were presented with unique awards and certificates.

View Gallery

Awards were presented by Gary Keenan (President of Athletics NI), David Seaton MBE (Chairman of Athletics NI), Tom Crick (Director of Coaching & Athlete Development of Athletics NI), Maeve Kyle, Dame Mary Peters and Alan Tate to the following recipients: 

Performance Awards

Junior Performance Coach of the Year – Annie Rose

Disability Performance Coach of the Year – Paddy McKillop

Performance Coach of the Year – Richard Rodgers

Club/Development Awards

Development Coach of the Year – Roger Sexton

Performance Club of the Year – Lisburn AC

Participation Club of the Year – Acorns AC 

Volunteer Awards

Volunteer of the Year – Ryan Maxwell

Volunteer of the Year – Bryan McCorkell

Millennium Volunteer Awards – Caitlin Fisher & Kurtis Scott

Official of the Year – Lyn Fisher

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Services to Officiating – Robin Mack

Sean Kyle Award for Services to Officiating – Eric Frizzell


In addition to the Awards in each of the four categories outlined above, certificates were also presented to athletes who broke NI records in 2015:

Ben Reynolds (110mH)

Kerry O’Flaherty (3000m Steeple Chase)

Ciara Mageean (1500m, Mile & 3000m)

John Kelly (U20 shot – 6Kg)

Andrew Barkley – (Discus Throw, 1.75Kg)

Ben Fisher – (U18 Long Jump)

Mark Burton – (U18 Triple Jump)

Christian Robinson – (U20 4x100m Relay)

Karl McClean – (U20 4x100m Relay)

Gareth Thompson – (U20 4x100m Relay)

Ben Fisher – (U20 4x100m Relay)