Nakita Burke and Neil Johnston Race to Victory at Queens 5k

04 April 2019

Nakita Burke and Neil Johnston Race to Victory at Queens 5k

Despite the damp weather, over 800 athletes took part in the Deep RiverRock Queen’s 5k Race Around the River last night, Wednesday 3rd April 2019. The race was this year’s NI & Ulster 5k Championship event, ensuring some quality performances.

The 5k race began at 7.30pm on the Annadale Embankment and from the offset a group formed who would eventually decide the podium positions. After a close two laps, it was Springwell Running Club’s Neil Johnston who finished 1st in a time of 14:51, securing the NI & Ulster title for the second consecutive year. He was closely followed by City of Derry Spartans’ Declan Reed in 2nd in a time of 14:58 and City of Lisburn AC’s Chris Madden in 3rd in a time of 15:02.

NI & Ulster Senior XC Champion, Mark McKinstry (North Belfast Harriers) just missed out on a podium spot finishing in 4th position in a time of 15:04 with Conall McClean (St Malachy’s AC) coming in just behind him in a new PB time of 15:05.


In the Ladies event, Letterkenny AC’s Nikita Burke added to her week after a triumphant 3rd place at the TQ10k on Sunday 31st March, to take 1st place and the NI & Ulster title in a time of 16:50. Following her was World Masters Champion, Kelly Neely (City of Lisburn AC) in a time of 17:06 and Beechmount Harriers’ Sarah Lavery in a time of 17:07.

NI & Ulster Intermediate XC Champion, Ciara Toner (Springwell Running Club) finished in 4th place in a time of 17:11, closely followed by Jessica Craig (North Down AC) in 5th place in a time of 17:18.

In the team prizes, the North Belfast Harriers men lead the way with a total of 41 points, while the Beechmount Harriers ladies won with a total of 28 points.

In the 3k Race, Tara McDonough (North Down AC) won the female event in a time of 10:37. In 2nd place was Kirsti Foster (East Down AC) in a time of 10:43 and in 3rd was Amelia Tyler (North Down AC) in a new PB time of 11:01.

In the Men’s 3k, Gary Crummy (Newry AC) won 1st place in a time of 9:21, followed by Fionntan Campbell (St Malachy’s AC) in 2nd in a PB time of 9:36 and in 3rd, Oran O’Hare (Foyle Valley AC) in a time of 9:46.

Full results for both the 5k & 3k can be found here.