Les Jones Memorial 10K hits Quarter of a Century

31 March 2016

Les Jones Memorial 10K hits Quarter of a Century

Glenn Grant (ChampionChip Ireland), Pam Brown (President Athletics NI) and Northern Ireland Athletes Launch Les Jones 10K

Over the past 25 years, Athletics Northern Ireland has run the Les Jones Memorial 10K in May, as a remembrance for the late Athlete, Team Manager and Chairman Les Jones who passed away in 1992. This year makes no exception, with the race taking place on Friday 13th May at the Mary Peters Track.

The Les Jones 10K will start at 7.30pm sharp on the track itself, letting those runners who want to challenge themselves battle it out along the way. It will then take lead on to the Malone Road, where it is a relatively downhill run on a mainly flat course. This race is not for the faint hearted as the route will see runners through the wetland, riverside meadows and the mixed woodlands of the Lagan Towpath at Drumbridge. Continuing on to Shaw's Bridge, Barnett's Park and QUB playing fields before tackling a killer of a hill to end this picturesque race, returning to finish on the Mary Peters Track.

John Allen, General Secretary of Athletics Northern Ireland, said “The now traditional Les Jones 10k provides a varied and scenic route, a relaxed atmosphere and a novel start and finish on the Mary Peters Track. With hopefully fine weather we’re looking forward to an enjoyable evening’s competition.”

Three time winner, Brendan Teer (East Down AC), maintained a convincing lead throughout and had extended the distance between himself and the chasing pack as he made his way down the hill, onto the track and towards the finish crossing the line in 33.10. Newcastle’s David O’Flaherty led the charge for second place with Willowfield’s Neill Weir in pursuit he completed the final stretch around the Track at an impressive pace. David won the race to the line and finished second in 34.05 followed by Neill in 35.42.

In the Women’s race Teresa Duffy was the first woman home in 39.29 ahead of Ballydrain’s Denise Logue in 40.02. Ballymena’s Geraldine Quigley was third placed woman in 41.03.

As ever, all runners will receive a text message to their mobile phones once the race is over with details of their individual position, official times and category position from race Sponsors ChampionChip Ireland. A LED screen will display every runner’s name, race position and time once they cross the finish line.

There is a total prize fund of £420, with each entrant receiving a special commemorative t-shirt and a goody bag. Entry fees are £13.00 for athletics club members, £15.00 to unattached individual runners.  

Online entry is available at, where there will also be access to a race map and race information. The closing date for online entries is 25th April.