Amy Foster added to the Commonwealth Games Team

08 March 2018

Amy Foster added to the Commonwealth Games Team

Athletics Northern Ireland is very pleased to learn that Amy Foster has been added to the Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games Athletics Team following the withdrawal of an athlete from another sport.

Athletics NI originally nominated Amy for selection to the Games along with 14 other athletes in October 2017. With limited places available and given the pressure on numbers across the various sports the Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games Council initially selected 11 NI athletes from the Athletics NI nomination list.

Given the recent withdrawal and in accordance with the nomination policy, Athletics NI have worked on Amy’s behalf to ensure she was strongly considered as the deserving replacement. Director of Athletics, Jackie Newton said “We are delighted that the Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games Council have added Amy to the team and look forward to her continuing the outstanding form that has seen her break the Irish Indoor 60m Record and represent Ireland in the World Indoor Championships in Birmingham last weekend.”

Amy commented “I am absolutely delighted to be selected for Commonwealth Games in the Gold Coast. I am very thankful for the support I have received from Athletics NI and the effort that has been made between Athletics NI and the NICGC to include me in the team.  I will
now look forward to competing in my 3rd Commonwealth Games."

Amy will depart with the main team on 20th March to travel to the holding camp in Somerset College, Gold Coast, with the Athletics action in the Carrara Stadium beginning on the 8th April.

Team Member                  Event                                    Coach   

Ciara Mageean                  800m & 1500m                  Steve Vernon

Dempsey McGuigan       Hammer                              John Smith

Kate O’Connor                  Heptathlon                         Kerr, McMullen, O’Connor, Reynolds

Sommer Lecky                  High Jump                           Niall Wilkinson

Adam Kirk-Smith              3000m Steeplechase      Tomaz Plibersek

Leon Reid                            200m                                     James Hillier      

Ben Reynolds                    110mH                                  Tom Reynolds

Adam McMullen              Long Jump                          Alan Kennedy

Emma Mitchell                  5000m & 10,00m               Eamonn Christie

Paul Pollock                        Marathon                            Andy Hobdell

Kevin Seaward                  Marathon                            Andy Hobdell

Jack Agnew*                        T54 1500m                           Heather Ardis

Amy Foster                         100m & 200m                     David Reid


*Invited via the Commonwealth Games Federation para-athletics policy.