Eight NI & Ulster Athletes Selected for European Cross Country Championships

24 November 2022

Eight NI & Ulster Athletes Selected for European Cross Country Championships

NI Commonwealth Silver Medallist, Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn AC) will lead the Athletics Ireland team for the SPAR European Cross Country Championships, in La Mandria Park, Turin on 11th December 2022.

The senior women’s team will see Ann Marie McGlynn (Letterkenny AC) and Roisin Flanagan (Finn Valley AC), join Ciara in what looks a stacked senior race where Ireland will look to better last year’s 4th place finish.

The men’s U20 team looks particularly strong with Nick Griggs (Mid Ulster AC); Sean McGinley (Finn Valley) and Callum Morgan (St. Malachy's AC) full of confidence given recent performances.

The Women’s U20 team with Roise Roberts (North Belfast Harriers) and Anna Gardiner (East Down AC) will be another young and exciting team.

The SPAR European Cross Country Championships is one of the main seasonal appointments of the European Athletics calendar and is hosted by Italy for the fourth time after the editions of Ferrara in 1998, San Giorgio su Legnano in 2006 and Chia in 2016. Piemonte 2022 follows the edition of Fingal-Dublin last December which saw the Irish team claim 3 medals (2 team and 1 individual), topped off with team gold in the men’s Under-23 race.

Congratulations to all the athletes selected:






Senior Women

Ciara Mageean

City of Lisburn

Helen Clitheroe

Senior Women

Ann Marie McGlynn

Letterkenny AC

Emmett Dunleavy

Senior Women

Roisin Flanagan

Finn Valley AC

Damon Martin

U20 Men

Nicholas Griggs

Mid Ulster AC

Mark Kirk

U20 Men

Callum Morgan

St. Malachy's AC

Mark Kirk

U20 Men

Sean McGinley

Finn Valley AC

John Rogan

U20 Women

Anna Gardiner

East Down AC

Peter Morgan

U20 Women

Róise Roberts

North Belfast Harriers

Jim McGuinness & Joe Ryan

See the full team here: 

Full Team Selection