Energia 24 Hour Race Hits its 10th Anniversary

21 June 2019

Energia 24 Hour Race Hits its 10th Anniversary

Representatives from 18 countries including Northern Ireland and Ireland will be on the start line for the 10th and last Energia 24-Hour race this Saturday 22nd June in Belfast’s Victoria Park.

In the men’s race, Cork’s Aidan Hogan is back to defend his Irish title, that he gained last year with a new PB distance of 154.5miles/243.9k. Fellow Cork International and the Irish Record Holder, Eoin Keith will no doubt be hot on his heels, as he will be keen to make it his 4th win. 

Also in title contention, will be Alex O’Shea, who last year added the race to his remarkable record of 32 marathons in 16 days. He will be joined by another Cork native, Padraig Mullins, who comes armed with a PB of 142.4miles/229k. 

All four will be seeking selection for the World 24-hour Championships in France at the end of October.

Others to watch out for will be Bangor’s Mark Walker, who will be returning from injury as well as the strong English contingent of Andy Jordan and Ian Thomas.


Newtownabbey’s Louise Smart is back to defend her Women’s Irish Title against Scandinavian pair, Finland’s Paula Wright and Norway’s Theresa Falk.

England-based former Irish champion Susan McCartney is another to watch for as well as Ballycastle’s Helena Dornan and Bangor’s Fiona Prue, who will be running her 100th marathon.

It will be the biggest field assembled in Ireland for a 24-hr race in recent years, except for the 2017 World Championships.

For many the goal will be to reach 100 miles, with a total of 53 did so last year. Race Director Ed Smith stated that: ‘Ultrarunning might be more popular than ever, but ten seemed a fitting number to call it a day as age has caught up on me!” 

The Energia Group has been title sponsor of the race from day one, with the support of Belfast City Council through their ‘Support for Sport’ initiative.