Four NI Athletes to Compete at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai

18 October 2019

Four NI Athletes to Compete at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai

Paralympics Ireland have announced the 11 person team that will represent Ireland at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai from 7th to 15th November. The team includes 4 athletes from Northern Ireland: Jason Smyth; David Leavy; Michael McKillop and Conor McIlveen.

Michael McKillop will make his much anticipated return to a major championship for the first time since his World Para Athletics Championships Gold medal win in London in 2017.



Paralympian Jason Smyth, will aim to continue his incredible winning streak to claim an 8th World Championship medal and his 18th major championship to add to his collection in an unbeaten career.


Upcoming athlete, David Leavy will be competing in the T38 1500m making his major Championship debut, as will Conor McIlveen, in the T38 400m.


Podium success will carry even more importance for Team Ireland as a Top 4 finish will secure a slot for Irish athletes at the Paralympic Games in Tokyo 2020.


Speaking about the naming of the Irish team that will compete at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai, James Nolan, Head of Para Athletics with Paralympics Ireland said: “We have a great mix of experienced and new athletes in the team, for 5 athletes this will be their first World championships (Mary, Jordan, Conor, Alex and David) and there are also 6 very experienced athletes that have won medals at Major championships.”

“World Para Athletics is developing rapidly and standards at World level are tremendously high but this team is exceptionally talented and will make an impact in Dubai.”

The team are currently at a training camp in Portugal, which James has stated will enable the athletes “to fine tune and get some quality work done in good weather conditions prior to travelling out on 2nd November.”

2019 World Para Athletics Championships Team Ireland

Jason Smyth (Derry Track Club), T13, 100m

David Leavy (City of Lisburn AC), T38, 1500m

Michael McKillop (St Malachy's AC), T37, 1500m

Conor McIlveen (Derry Track Club), T38, 400m

Full Team Details:

Full Schedule of Events: