Gladys Ganiel Runs Fastest Time for NI Women at the Belfast Marathon

14 May 2019

Gladys Ganiel Runs Fastest Time for NI Women at the Belfast Marathon

Former NI Commonwealth Games athlete Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers) took the NI & Ulster title at the Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon on Sunday 5th May 2019, where she ran the fastest time for a Northern Ireland based female in the Belfast Marathon.

Gladys finished in a PB time of 2:37:32, which is the 5th fastest time of all time for NI women at the marathon distance.

Coach, Matt Shields has stated: “This was for me the best performance that Gladys has ever produced. She ran a PB on an over distance and difficult course, plus she ran the fastest Belfast Marathon time ever by a Northern Ireland based female. When you also consider her age, employment and family status I think this just makes it all the more amazing. I couldn't have asked for more from her.” 

We had previously announced the 2nd and 3rd places for the NI & Ulster Women, however, after video analysis of the finish line, this has been adjusted to the following: the second NI & Ulster lady was Louise Smith (North Belfast Harriers) in a time of 2:57:56 and 3rd was Eimear Nicholl (Armagh AC) in a time of 2:58:21.


For the Marathon Wheelchair Race, Jim Corbett (Torque Racing Club) claimed victory in a time of 2:19:21, with Karol Doherty finishing in 2nd place in 2:33:06 (beating his 2018 time of 2.46.34). In 3rd place was James Divin (City of Derry Spartans) in a time of 2:35.:48.

For the Men, it was Jarlath McKenna (Bristol & West) who took the NI & Ulster title, coming 6th overall in a time of 2:26:18. Following closely behind was Acorn AC’s Vincent McKenna in a time of 2:30:41 and the 3rd NI & Ulster Male was Max Travers (Annadale Striders) in a time of 2:35:23.


In the team competition Willowfield Harriers team of Neil Weir, Brian Kinsella and Garry Morrow, took 1st place in the NI & Ulster Championship with a combined time of 7:56:48. In 2nd place was Annadale Striders team of Max Travers, Simon Murray and Conor McMullan, in a combined time of 08:05:38, and in 3rd place was Springwell Running Club's team of Chris Denton, Jason Scott and Aaron Moffatt, with a time of 8:27:31.

North Belfast Harriers won the Women’s Team competition, with Gladys Ganiel, Louise Smith and Roisin Hughes finishing with a combined time of 8:36:25. The 2nd team was Armagh AC with Eimear Nicholl, Niamh Donnelly and Jacqueline Wright running a combined time of 9:11:54 and in 3rd place was the Beechmount Harriers team of Gerrie Short, Rachel McCloskey and Aine Hughes who finished in a time of 09:34:28.

A full list of the results is available on the Belfast Live website at and on the Belfast City Marathon website at