Mick Clohisey claims victory at 39th Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon

05 October 2021

Mick Clohisey claims victory at 39th Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon

On Sunday 3rd October, thousands took part in the 39th Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon, which included the Irish National Championships and the NI & Ulster Championships.

Event organisers are delighted to see a return of the event with so much support, after a difficult 18 months during the pandemic.

Irish National Championships

A great day for athletes across Ireland, congratulations to Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock A.C. (national marathon champion from 2018) winning the 39th Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon in a time of 2:20:42.  Closely followed by 2019 NI and Ulster Champion, Kyle Doherty (City of Derry Spartans) in a time of 2:22:48.  Third place was Colin Heron of Keep Er Lit, in a time of 2:27:25.


For the ladies, Fionnuala Ross (Armagh AC) came in first in a time of 2:43:42.  In second place, Ciara Hickey of Brothers Pearse A.C with a time of 2:44:40.  Gladys Ganiel (2014 Commonwealth Games athlete; 2018 European Marathon Championships Team Ireland member) of North Belfast Harriers was third in a time of 2:45:03.

Congratulations also to Karol Doherty who won the Wheelchair Race in a time of 2:47:06.


NI & Ulster Championships

In the NI & Ulster Championships, the Men’s title went to City of Derry Spartans’ Kyle Doherty who was 2nd overall, with Colin Heron (Keep Er Lit) taking 2nd and 3rd overall. In 3rd place for the Championship was Jarlath McKenna (Bristol & West AC) who finished in 5th place overall in a time of 2:28.47. The team prize went to Keep Er Lit, finishing in a total time of 8:10.48.

Armagh AC’s Fionnuala Ross took the Women’s NI & Ulster title, and North Belfast Harriers Gladys Ganiel finished in 2nd place in the Championships. In 3rd place in the Championship was City of Derry Spartans’ Catherine Whoriskey who finished in 2:48.17 and was the 4th women overall. The team prize went to North Belfast Harriers, finishing in a total time of 8:36.50.

The full results for the NI & Ulster Teams are available here


A full list of the results are available on the Belfast Live website www.belfastlive.co.uk and on the Belfast City Marathon website at www.belfastcitymarathon.com 

For further updates, follow the Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

The Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon is sponsored by Athletics Northern Ireland, Daily Mirror, Belfast City Council, Better, Cool FM (Downtown Radio and Downtown Country), Translink, Spar, Belfast Live, Tayto and Four Star Pizza.  This year’s official charity is Cancer Focus Northern Ireland.